Home > family > Remembering the Important Things

Remembering the Important Things

Me and my grandma

I’ve been absent from my blog for the past month or so.  This is mostly because I was working on a project that took up a great deal of my time.  But, I wasn’t just absent from my blog.  I was also absent from my friends and family.  I focused on my work and on my professional life.  I figured I could get back to my friends and family later, but I needed to take care of business at the time.   I was determined to finish this project before the end of 2009 and I was going to work my fingers to the bone each day to get it done.  

But life often interrupts our best laid plans.   My grandmother passed away on Christmas Eve.   She was 94 and she lived a long and beautiful life.  The death of my grandmother brought my work to a stand still and made it impossible for me to complete my project by the end of the year.  But something positive came out of this sad event.  It brought me in contact with family members I hadn’t seen in years.  We were brought together because of an unfortunate and heart breaking event but we were together and I realized how much I  missed spending time with my family.  

What does this have to do with financial planning, you ask?  I’m reminded of Suze Orman’s famous catchphrase: “People first, then money, then things.”  I’m starting off the new year thinking of those wise words.  I went into hiding for a bit because of business; because of money.  But, no matter how hectic things get with work or finances or life, don’t forget the people who are there for you.  This feels like a cliché.  It’s an obvious statement.  An obvious answer to how we’re supposed to spend our time and our lives.  But we often forget these things – I know I did.  Prior to my loss, I was busy setting goals for my business and making plans for my professional life.  But now I am reminded that while my business and my finances are important, these things don’t trump spending time with the people I love.

Categories: family
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

