Home > Uncategorized > Do You Need Financial Help?

Do You Need Financial Help?

January 27, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m not always sure what pops into people’s heads when they hear the term “financial planner.”  Before I decided to pursue financial planning as a profession, I generally believed that financial planners spent most of their time selling insurance or investment products.  And to be honest, this characterization is one of the reasons I did not pursue financial planning a long time ago.  I did not want to be a sales person and I wanted to focus on helping people rather than convincing them to purchase a particular product. 

But I gradually learned about different types of financial planners and I decided to open a practice where clients would not feel pressured to purchase products.  I wanted to provide no-strings attached financial advice to people who wanted to responsibly manage their money.   So I started a fee-only financial planning practice. 

So you may be wondering: is financial planning for me?  Some reasons to use a financial planner include the following:

  • You have no interest or time to manage my finances
  • You would like confirmation that you’re making the correct financial decisions given your goals  
  • You  have a special situation that requires more complicated financial analysis (e.g., chronic illness, special needs child, self-employed)
  • You can’t get your spending under control
  • You need help eliminating your debt

But if you’re still not sure or would like more information on what a financial planner can do for you, I recommend this New York Times article.  As the article mentions, wealthy families have relied on financial planners for years and ” paying for advice is as natural as paying the landscaper.”  But more and more non-wealthy Americans are finding that a financial planner can provide a financial checkup or financial guidance that can help them get on the right track.  Do you fall into any of the groups of people who could use professional financial help?

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

